from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2003-12-06 - 11:23 p.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







the holy book of lies - or - the art of lying

Prelude

"I know an old blues song (traditional) with these lines in it: 'there's two kind of people I just can't stand - that's a lying woman & a begging man' - does that mean he can stand lying men & begging women?"

Oscar Wilde wrote once an essay:'The Decay of Lying" - it's built as a conversation between two friends, Cyril & Vivian - So let me quote some lines:

Vivian: I intend to call it 'The Decay of Lying: A Protest'.

Cyril: Lying! I should have thought that our politicians kept up that habit.

Vivian: I assure you that they do not. They never rise beyond the level of misrepresentation, and actually condescend to prove, to discuss, to argue. How different from the temper of the true liar, with his frank, fearless statements, his superb irresponsibility, his healthy, natural disdain of proof of any kind! After all, what is a fine lie? Simply that which is it's own evidence. If a man is sufficiently unimaginative to produce evidence in support of a lie, he may speak as well the truth at once.

End of the Prelude

..

I know a woman who often says, one of the things she hates most is people who lie. She despises deeply people she catches on a lie - but she herself lies a lot - so probably she wants to express how much she hates herself.

But more precisely: No - we know she doesn't hate herself - she's only very unconscious that her rightious sentence judges herself too!

There are 2 kind of general lies, the lies for protection & the lies for cheating & deceiving someone. - I think, we all are liars in certain circumstances, to get rid of any fools who urge, disturb, attack us. I think thats quite correct - if I would have been a Jew in the 'Third Reich' of Hitler, I would have lied anything for them Nazis not to identify, catch me etc. - same, if I were a spy in foreign hostile country. - and we all have our fears in a hostile world - if you have people you can trust & rely on - lies would be killers of friendship & faith - so please never lie to the ones you love & those who build your inner circle of friendship - but also here certain kinds of lies are common: the lies of shame, the lies of false flattering (some people even beg to be lied on: "please say I'm beautyful, please say I look so pretty, so very young - please tell me, I'm a good lover - please attest my real importance in society.. - hmm man you're great! (please leave me alone)) , the lies to avoid certain facts & truths, that would hurt your partner (your friend) - do you have a person you trust so much you would never tell a lie to him/her? I do have!

We don't trust people we catch on a lie. - There's a German proverb: "Wer einmal l�gt, dem glaubt man nicht - und wenn er auch die Wahrheit spricht" (you won't believe someone, who once lied, not even as he speaks the truth)

But sure we would lie to any robber who asks us where our treasures are hidden!

There are seldom people who actually really never lie under any circumstances.

But there are also people who like to lie in any circumstances under any conditions, because they just prefer lie to truth - maybe in their early youth any thruth conditions got totally lost - they had to cheat & lie to survive - & later they try to go on the same way in further life, but will soon be detected & identified as liars & so get soon outcasts of society.

like in a Neil Young song 'Ambulance Blues' of the 'On the Beach' LP:

I never knew a man could tell so many lies

He had a different story for every set of eyes.

How can he remember who he's talkin' to?

'Cause I know it ain't me, and I hope it isn't you.

In my minds eye of all the different sorts, families, tribes etc. of lies, there are two main groups:

a) the lie to protect yourself

(this one is a lock & key to your privacy & safety)

b) the lie to cheat someone

(this one is a burglar's tool)

I despise & disgust people who use the second kind of lie - I never use the second kind of lie, but I think: 'cheating a robber' is OK with me.

But again to my acquaintance, the woman who despises deeply other people who lie. She has her own rules for which kind of lies are allowed (she's an a)-line liar of course -just for her protection of course) & which kind of lies are under prohibition (forbidden). But she refuses to accept that other people also have their own system, about what they want to hide.

How can I judge about the other one's lying system, if I have my own system for it!

"Wer im Glashaus sitzt, soll nicht mit Steinen werfen" (who sits in a glas house shouldn't throw stones)

& I think there is a sentence in the new testament like this: 'why do you see the splinter in your brother's eye, but won't see the beam in your own eye - remove first the beam in your eye & then help your brother remove his splinter"

But the rules for this all is probably written in the holy book of lies (several different editions available - one for any kind of taste)!

Ooh baby, don't you lie to me!

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!