from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2005-11-15 - 3:53 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







Imagine a Grapefruit

Today is not childrens day nor women day nor groundhog day, no it's "Yoko Ono" day - I say it like Keith Richards once said: "There is the sun, there is the moon & the stars - & there is the Rolling Stones"

I mean it's me, who decides what day is today, becauce it's me of course in our small world whow decides which day it is..

to explain a bit more - I read some comments to a foto of a gravestone from victims of WWI in Alisons place & read the comments there - I had the idea to write a comment myself, but then remembered a line of a poem of Yoko Ono I had read in my youth - I couldn't quite remember it - it was something like: "..the whole world is a graveyard.." - I once had a book from her which she had published in the late sixties - but somehow had lost this book in my long life afterwards -

so to find this line I googled it - I found a lot about Yoko Ono, also some lines of the poets of that book, but not this one I searched.

Anyway I found a longer interview with her & wow - she is about 72 by now. By reading the interview & I was just reading the following passage:

Advancing age is, she says, an issue that particularly affects women. "Because, you know, men, even in newscasting, the male newscaster is always like daddy, you know, 50 or 60 or something, and then the women have to be 18 and blonde. They get blonder and blonder."

I thought 'why not quote it in my diary?', but then 'why not just link there?'

see here, but don't forget to come back!:
link to Yoko's interview

The book I once had from Yoko was called 'grapefruit'



(she was one of the women of my dreams in that time)

There were poems in it like these:


Make a key.
Find a lock that fits.
If you find it, burn the house
that is attached to it.
1963 Spring

Laundry Piece: When you entertain guests, bring out your laundry and explain each item: how and when it became dirty and why, etc. (summer 1963)

I read also that John Lennon in one if his last interviews said something like he was inspired for his song 'Imagine' by her book 'Grapefruit' - see here:


'John Lennon admitted, in an interview two days before this death, that he had been �too macho� to give his wife the credit she deserved for writing the lyrics to one of the world�s best-loved songs.

He said: "Imagine should be credited as a Lennon/Yoko Ono song. A lot of it, the lyrics and the concept, came from her. Straight out of her book, Grapefruit. Imagine this or imagine that."

The simple lyrics of Imagine voted the UK�s favourite song of all time - has been adopted as an anthem of the secular generation and is one of the most influential lyrics ever produced.'

In the late 60ies there very controversial opionions about Yoko Ono - some believed she destroyed the Beatles, some thought her to be the woman behind John Lennon - some thought her kind of art & show acts very strange - but I really liked her as an idol in that time - she was original, she was unconventional, a very strong woman with her own mind & senses & of course not the woman behind John Lennon, but the partner woman besides him.


But let me see wether I still get that book 'Grapefruit' again by amazon or maybe also John Lennons book in that time (which I also had then but lost it later): 'In his own write - a spaniard in the works'

In that time (late 60ies) I also tried to get the first record of John of Yoko: "2 Virgins" in original - but the cover was forbidden here & in Great Britain you could only get it in a few record shops wrapped in brown paper bags. - see here to know why:





but to finish this little ode to Yoko Ono & for those very few who don't even know the text of 'Imagine' - let me fade this entry out with John's anthem:



Imagine there's no Heaven
It's easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there's no countries
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will live as one


& of course we all know the 'Ballad of Yoko and John'...

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!