from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2006-11-13 - 6:40 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







Visit my tiny arabesquisms gallery while it's still free!

Like I mentioned in my PS of my last entry � here�s the big show off of my small sized gallery � of my former painting. � So it�s not so big.

Long time ago (it was the late 70ies & early 80ies I had a phase in my life, when I liked to play guitar & scribble small arabesque drawings with china ink. � I had an old fashioned dip pen quill, which you could dip into that black little ink barrel & make sensible black drawings, where the line gets thicker with higher pressure or how you hold the pen � for a pen holder there were a lot of different �Federn� (blades?, feathers?,) different in size of the top & the their reactions to pressure, holding & relasing the ink etc.



& after some experience I had my favourite few pen tops, which gave the best results for me.
I wonder wether they are still available, since the old traditional shop �Mandel� in the center of Nuremberg, which sold stationary, but also every kind of very special material that art painters needed, like special brushes, all kinds of colours & canvasses & special kind of paper sheets. � They had everything or at least could deliver it within short time. �

Now this shop, lead by 3 old Ladies (sisters) is gone & I really wonder, wether these old pen quills ar still available somewhere. - & I also wander, wether the special china ink pots are still available. �

When in the 80ies once I was in the USA, Massachussetts, visiting my friend Ed, I tried to buy china ink, but couldn�t get it. � Well a vendor in a stationery shop sold me an ink pot as china ink, but later I found out, that it was just ordinary black ink. � The difference to china ink is, that china ink is water proof � so much needed for my colouring later on my pictures with aquarell colours.

There was only one picture (that one with the blue castle, the mandolin player, the coach & the eagle above) I�ve been drawing in the USA. & when after drawing it with that cheap American ink I wantered to colour it with my expensive Schmincke aquarell colours, I got aware, that the ink was water soluble. � So I put the drawing to a copy shop & tried to colourize the waterproof copy. � but the paper was so bad & oversmooth, that I didn�t get a feeling with the colours & it was one of my crude painted ones � I didn�t even finish it. See here:


you see what I mean? (poor inspiration in the USA..)

Yes my style was not to paint reality � that�s what fotos are for � it was drawing arabesque patterns of my imagination & inner eye & later on giving them colours to make them glow & orgasm, to make them more pointy or give them the attraction that the raw black drawing couldn�t attend yet. (or something like that..)

But enough words for now � here my 4 favourites, which I keep like a treasure, somewhere in the dungeons of my small flat in a map inside a larder � before they mould I put their spirit up to flickr:



� � � �


� � � �

The rest of them - the better ones & the worse ones, - the finished ones & the yet unfinished ones � you can gaze at them all here in my flickr gallery � if there�s one you really, please write a comment there.

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Heimo's paintings. Make your own badge here.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!