from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2006-12-22 - 4:05 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







Beware of the Witch!

It�s only few days to Weihnachten (Christmas ) & against my long tradition since long to not buy christmas presents, except for children who are close to me - & yes for my old parents � this time I did a bit more - maybe too much, because when in the evening I looked on my bank account there were only 40 Euros left this month, while I had thought there must be still some hundred left � ooh! � There where some debit withdrawals I hadn�t expected

Ok � I have dispo of 1100 Euro (I didn�t wanted it higher, when the bank once offered it) & I rarely overdraw. � It�s better to spend only money you have, not lent money, where you have to pay interests for.

So before I noticed my poor state of my bank account I went shopping to spend about another 100 �s , to buy that great tipi-like lamp covered with thin goat leather I had seen these days & by the way some fine painted glasses with candles within, where if you light them the pictures on the glass glow mysteriously from within � on such occasions I always buy more than I had intended.
See:



Mine looked similar, but with another pattern on it

On my way to the shopping mall there was a family behind me with some small children -
I overheard a childvoice behind me saying: �Ich habe Angst, da� ein Wolf aus dem Himmel kommt und mich fri�t� ("I'm afraid that a wolf comes out of the sky and devours me."

I looked behind me to see who had spoken, but couldn�t make out in the first - - A minute later I heard the same voice again: �I�m afraid, that a witch comes out from behind a bush..� � this time looking back, before it has finished & saw it was a little girl saying this with gay cheerfulness � � heard her sister also saying what she was afraid of & I noticed that it was a competition of 2 sisters of what they were afraid of (�Ich habe Angst, dass..�) � the younger sister couldn�t make much points while saying �I�m afraid that a sign looks at me..� � the other then: �I�m afraid, that a cat scratches me� �
But when one of them said: �I�m afraid, that I�ll be run over by a car..� � on this the mother intervened, saying.: �you should watch the street when you cross it ..� �

This was the only time the mother intervened, - she didn�t care about the fears of wolves coming out of clouds, witches from behind bushes & attacking cats, but it will take still a long time until the little girls will find out, what the real dangers in life are

I remember in my early childhood � we lived in a small village on the countryside then � that when I heard the spooky hoo hoo of the doves � I was convinced, that it was a wicked witch that had her hideaway somewhere on the end of the village � I also was convinced that ditches on the sides of the streets were dangerious & could somehow swallow you, especially in combination with ravens � so when one farmer in the neighbourhood had some turkeys strolling free on his farm yard � I was convinced that these were the evil ravens, that would pull you into the ditches & devour you there. � Why did I know that? � Because of an old nursery rhyme grownups sang while bouncing a small child on their knees � letting it with every verse of the rhyme more to the ground, while letting it softly drop at the last line.

& this rhyme telling about the terrible dangers lurking in ditches by the ravens waiting there was:


Hoppe, hoppe Reiter �
Wenn er f�llt dann schreit er �
f�llt er in den Graben,
fressen ihn die Raben �
f�llt er in den Sumpf,
dann macht der Reiter Plumps!

Here the translation to English (in German of course it rhymes):


Hop, hop rider (cavalier)
If he falls he cries �
If he falls into the ditch
He will be eaten by the ravens -
If he falls into a swamp
then the rider makes �Splash�

Do you see the terrible truths hidden in these prophetic words to a child of 3 or 4?

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!