from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2007-03-30 - 5:12 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







helper syndrom vs. lost energy

Sometimes I try to fight my natural helper syndrom � since it�s been stealing so much of my (most precious time) in the last view years.

Probably all �experts� have the same problem � the car mechanic, the doctor, the craftsman � those special abilities that are so expensive - in private life under friends & aqquaintances, a lot of people take advantage of the opportunity to get free advice & fixing of what is broken in their lives �
�can you take a look at my car?� � & at a party under friends they ask the invited doctor �can you take a look at my belly? � can you give me advice how to treat my bad shoulder?� �

I believe people should help each other, neighbours & friends should/could to aid & help each other voluntarily & not only for money. - but on the other hand if you have a special ability which everybody needs, while none your neighbours has anything like that - you have to be very carefull - it's like owning a treasure, that everybody around you is greedy to get his share..
�Can you do me a favour? in this case � is a very one way connection of friendly exchanchge � because usually they have no specail abilities you could need at all � (well they could clean your flat), but that�s a thing you could never ask for.

I�ve been a programmer & software developer since the pioneers time of home PC�s in the late 80ies. - I�ve been working for long long years in software companies & I got meanwhile my 8th PC already � Of course I know how to build them up, how to install & prevent dangers of viruses, how to make websites etc.etc.

Now the pioneers time is over & every fool has his PC meanwhile. � They don�t know how to handle or to treat or feed their computers in the least, because they think it�s just another media machine, like tv, video-player & mp3-player � but of course they need someone to tell them where to push the button.

I can�t remember anymore how often in the last few years I had helped beginners to computers � means friends & relatives in endless hours to install, to teach, to cure their broken systems � in 99 % percent I could fix their problems, but it�s often a tedious long time of installing & research �

I didn�t mind to help my friends for free- because that�s what friends are for � to be friends is no business relation

But later on some of them started to give on reference to me as computer doctor � so I also helped 3 neighbours of a friend fixing for hours their simple PC problems � I warned this friend � �please don�t tell other people anymore, that I�m fit to fix PC�s � or if you tell them, tell them that they should pay me accordingly..

Yes I always like to help people & I think we could would live in a better world if all people behaved like that, helping each other in need, without thinking of reward. � But we live in a commercialized world were people only work for money & spend the rest of the time to do their own private thing. � No neighbourhood help systems in the big cities anymore. �
So if you�re the one who helps people for free you�`ll get exploited over & over & you get nothing back.

If I helped people on their computer problems I never asked for money � some few gave me voluntary some amount & Im meanwhile about deciding, that all not-friends �so the aqquaintances of some friends should pay for my work, these endles hours of bug fixing & installing is that tedious & just wastes my most precious time..

But back to reality: so last Monday my friend Ghasem who is always that helpful, not only with his own energies, but also with mine, asked me, whether I could help to get a printer for his friend & install it � well a simple task � I told them where to buy it at best price & promised to help them install it, when they got it. - - so some days later � last Monday they took me in the early evening to my friend�s friend�s place to install the new printer, which needs usually about 10 or 15 minutes. - -

But while we unwrapped the printer, I noticed, that there was no printer cable (USB) in that box available..

Argh � I should have known that before, because since some time � all these greedy big printer manufacturing companies don�t add the �cheap cable� that is used to connect it with the PC anymore � that means that millions of printer buyers get angry while detecting at home, that they have to buy an extra cable to install that printer. � In fact the mass of unaware people don�t even know what is missing & have to call an expert, to tell them..

OK � so no computer installation this evening � my job was done � but then this Toni (my friends� pal) didn�t miss the chance to tell me of his other PC problems (in fact � the whole PC was a problem to him) � he asked me to research his headset, which didn�t worked � I found out after some time that they were simply broke. �
He asked me to implement a route planning system on his PC, which was of course just adding a simple link on his favorites list �

He asked me, how he could buy things in ebay, because he needed a machine for his job-
I found that fitting machine in ebay with bidding end 2 day to go � I told him that I had to register him to ebay before he could bid there � he was very hesitating to register � I told him, that he no plights while registering, he had only to pay if he�d buy something � so we made his registration - & of course I needed his e-mail adress for the registration � it needed some time until he found � but well, he had a business card with his mail adress on it �

So after finishing the registration to ebay we were waiting for response mail, which has to be confirmed.

Well this Toni couldn�t even tell me how he received hes mail, what e-mail system he was using anyway? � the mail adress he had told me was of web.de, a free mail account like gmx or hotmail etc. � I found an outlook on his screen & while I started it I found over 200 unread mails in the inbox � he apparently had never before looked in that before �I noticed with a quick glance, that there were a lot of flirtline mails etc. in it - - he asked me to delete them all � still unread �which I did � a little while later I noticed that the e-mail adress connected to his outlook wasn�t that adress he had given me before & which was written on his business card - -

While I told him about it � he was totally surprised & I got aware that he had no idea what an e-mail is, what�s the purpose of e-mailing is & how the the hell it�s working. � & that he had an e-mail adress on his business card, which he had no idea to receive those mails �
I wonder how many orders he`d already lost because of never reacting to any mail inquiries �

The mail adress on his card was something with @web.de � so I told him we could look on his account now to check his mails & of course also that response of ebay �
But to get there in I needed his password � Yes right! � He had no idea what & why a password & where it could be � so he searched for papers of his internet account provider, which were of course in this case useless to me. � I asked him about who had made this web.de account for him � he tried to remember -& I told him he should ask that guy for his password � he must have told it to you -..

When me & Ghasem left him, I told him to call me again, if he had gotten that password & also that cable (I had written the name of the needed cable on a paper & told him where to get it.

He wanted to call me within the next 2 days, but of course didn�t do so - maybe these hard tasks I gave him, needs him weeks to fulfill them, which is fine with me.

Since in the last few years every simple minded persons ( I avoided to say �idiot�) has his own PC, the standards are getting lower & lower - the pioneers & experts are few � while the mass of PC idiots are many � so it�s understandable, while also disgusting, that big business computer industry customizes standards to all those PC-idiots that don�t understand anything about computers, but want a computer to behave like a big meda machine to play their videos, their mp3�s - give them chat-rooms & let�s view their sex-sites � more than 3 buttons to press would really overextend their abilities..

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!