from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2007-07-29 - 2:11 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







Listen to the music!

Another year � another summer � another 'Bardentreffen' in Nuremberg � you know the feast for whole 3 days from Friday to Sunday when a lot of internalional bands, song writers etc. play in Nurremberg on a lot of stages spread all over the old historical medieval center of town � I saw some splendid groups or musicians, singers & songwriters in the last few years, but this year I just couldn't make my mind up, when I read the program in the internet (see www.bardentreffen.de) to which of the bands I should go � nothing seemed to be extra-ordinary enough for me delicated taste � it seemed also not so international anymore, because most bands where from Germany � only a few from France & one from Ireland, another from Cuba..

by chance an old friend of mine, - living far away from Nuremberg called me 2 days ago � he, his girl friend & a friend of them wanted to come to that Bardentreffen too & meet me there � ok � well I agreed to meet them at 17 o'clock on a central place � yes we met � they were sitting at the Irish pub down the river Pegnitz � I didn't like the idea to sit all evening in an Irish pub, while there was music in the air � a lot of maybe interesting bands playing

so I said: come on � let's go � there's a lot of interesting music around us � so we went up to the Katharinen-Kloster, an old church ruin without roof anymore as relict from the last worldwar � meanwhile a place for a lot of concerts in the summer time,

There was a French group from the South Alpes singing a capella � just about starting

because it had rained short time before � it wasn't possible to sit on the stone floor (like people usually do there � well some people sat on there bags & I sat on my raincoat � I liked the a capella songs, some where even meditative � I closed my eyes & the harmony of voices drove my mind away � but apparently not to my friends � because a noticed them after the 3rd song already getting impatient � let's go to another place � ok they were standing, while I was sitting on my raincoat � maybe they felt a bit uncomfortable � or didn't they like that music?

So we went down to Isle 'Schuett� - that's where the river Pegnitz crosses � where a lot of shacks with food from a lot of countries edged the way to the next concert stage � my friends bought some chinese food & we sat on a small wall to consume it � some minutes later it started to rain � my all-over raincoat (still from Disneyland Paris) totally saved me & my bag, while my friends fled to a big shade, where they stood pressed together like herings in a can for a while �

but even as the heavy rain poured I heard that the music from the stage in front of us was real good � it was another french band, playing a lot of different styles � while enduring the hard rain shower I really enjoyed the music & thought we ought to get closer � but then 10 minutes later- while the rain ceased � my friends had decided to walk on to the next place- apparently the music hadn't even touched them � they had listened to it, just like to any other background music or muzac in a caf� or 'warehouse' (Kaufhaus) � the next place where they wanted to go , was the Nurembergian market place. - a much more uncomfortable place to stand & listen � & the band that played there was to my information not worth to go there -

but they didn't listen to my advice & because I didn't had met my old friend Roland since I year � I decided to give up Bardentreffen concerts & just go with them � all they wanted later on was to sit in a small caf� � have some drinks together & chat -

Yes I know since long � if you want to explore a festival or town etc. � better go alone

the bigger a group is, the more indecisive & paralycing they will be to any adventure � all they want to do is to find the next coffe-house, restaurant, bar or whatever to sit & drink & eat together. - You have to go alone to find the real interesting things in life..

Everytime I had been to the Bardentreffen alone I could find some really good music & enjoy � but every time I was there with a group of people it was deeply dissatisfying to my goal to find some good musicians & enjoy them.

No meetings anymore with friends at Bardentreffen!

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!