from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2003-12-21 - 3:04 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







the prophecy of procrastination

To improve my english & to for an enhancement of of my learning discipline I started recently to research every word I don't understand in an english text in my dictionary.

So today while reading one of my daily lectures, Gentry's diary, there was the word 'procrastinate' I couldn't remember the meaning anymore.

But I knew, I had at least twice or thrice (three times) looked for it's translation in the dictionary - no way - I always forget it. This strange word doesn't stick in my memory & I hate it so much if I have to learn the same word over & over again.

to procrastinate = z�gern, zaudern in German

to hesitate also = z�gern, zaudern in German,

'hesitate' is a word I can easily remember, but this strange combination of 'pro' and 'crast' or 'crastinate' ist hard to remember -

I know the meaning of all these english prefixes like de, dis, in, en, un, con, up etc. coming from latin origin - 'pro' means for - but what means crastinate, - there exists no verb like crast or crastinate in english - so the combination pro & crastinate gives no meaning - & also the 'r' in crast seems to be false in this combination - I think procast or pocrast would sound better & would be easier to learn for me - but having the 'r' in 'pro' and in 'crast' seems to be exaggerated to me.

So I proclaim in my proceeding procedure of provoking diary writing, that these probably problem causing 'pro'-prefixed words should be prohibited - who needs them?

Hmm - I think now I know forever what 'procrastinate' means, but probably I can't afford the time to write a whole diary entry for to learn a new english verb & it probably also bores my readers.

ich denke ich werde in Zukunft mein diary in franz�sisch fortf�hren - das ist dann viel einfacher, da ich nur �ber einen sehr kleinen franz. Wortschatz verf�ge & �ber katastrophale franz�sisch Grammatikkenntnisse - und Unkenntnis & Ignoranz machen ja bekanntlich stark, das beweisen all die politisch gew�hlten Minister, die zwar kaum Ahnung von der Materie haben, aber eben Macht haben. Um so mehr ich Bescheid wei� �ber eine Materie, umso mehr sehe ich meine Schw�chen um die Kenntnisse �ber diese Materie..

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!