from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2006-09-26 - 4:13 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







10 Days of Repentance


I just found a link to this UTube video in Howards blog �it�s about the 10 days between Rosh Hashana & Yom Kippur & Stephen Colbert�making some funny remarks - - see here:

I like most in it the presence of the Repentance hotline telefone the little gag with the partly Hebrew numbers..

I don�t know about Stephen Colbert & am no connoisseur of Amercan tv- culture -especially talkmasters (& by the way also don�t believe that USA is the cultural heart of the world)- . names like David Lettermann & Oprah are slightly known here � but of course a lot of the American soaps & stand up comedian shows (my fave is Seinfeld, not Sex in the City) are sent here in German tv (of course translated) too - & my friend Jeremy who has all the Seinfeld series in original (english) on DVD�s told me that there�s a lot of language related word game jokes are missing in the German translation, - but still it�s funny, pointy & sometimes even satirical enough to satisfy my excellent taste in humours..

But as to repentance time in different religions � Catholics have their repentance time directly after that high feasting time, called �carneval (in German called �Fasching�) � �vale carne� hail to the needs&greeds of the flesh � ain�t it? - even in my early youth I really thought that concept really strange � it looked to me like first have a time of some months to feast (maybe sin) & act like crazy, but afterwards throw ashes over your head (Aschermittwoch) means repent & fasting for some weeks until Easter time comes � Strange concept! � I am no Catholic, but in my youth I was still Protestant (in the Lutherian church), but even left that church when I was 17 years old. (But that�s another story) � Other Christians than the Catholics (the Ordoxian Christians may too) don�t have these prescribed times of fasting & repenting & there is nothing in the new testament written about it

Ramadan in the Muslim world which has now started in the same time as the Jewish Rosh Hashanna is also a fasting time & so probably a repenting time too (I don�t not know too much about Muslim religious feasts) � but it may origins to the Jewish 10 days of repentance, because it starts in the same time. (Maybe I�m gonna start an investigation in internet about that)

To this concept of forgiving everybody within these 10 days of repentance - this Stephen Colbert was making his little jokes about � I can remember that concept in the new testament when Jesus was asked by one of his disciples: �How often I�m supposed to forgive my brother? � Is it enough if I forgive him 7 times - & Jesus answers :�No � forgive him 7 times 70 times� - - & I also remember that concept: �Forgive to be forgiven� � which in my mind�s eye is a very good concept � that means if you forgive everybody, than you are forgiven everything. � But on the other hand in all the injustness happening in our world & about everybody has people who really hurt him badly, mistreated & cheated him - & sometimes it�s really hard to forgive. � Can you really forgive those, who in your minds eye did evil crimes to you & your beloved ones?

Forgive to be forgiven is a concept hard to fulfill, but may it�s worth to think about it..

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!