from the fantastic patterns of dreams to the surrealistic behaving of reality

written in Dinglish (that's Germanic English)

N�rnberg, Mittelfranken, 2008-06-30 - 4:17 a.m.

Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me if you're a nice person, you can sign older entries newest entry







the ooze coming out..

tonight short time after midnight my tv broke - there was a short flicker & a slight bizz sound & then it was off. - I went there to switch it on again - did'nt work - I cut the currency totally & put it on again - so my tv had time to recover, refresh himself or something like that. -

But no - the screen remained black & all little LSD-lights showing the status stayed unlit. - After several of such tryings to awake my tv again were in vain.

The situation is, that in the moment I can't afford to buy a new tv (ok I could, but it would be a very MINUS to my bank account)

hmm - but I still got internet & is tv that important? - I don't think so.

In fact I have the feeling (means: "I know") that I was watching tv much to much in recent time, taking me away from a lot of much more importing tasks, like living life in reality.

Is there anything important that I would miss? - I don't think so!

When I was about 20 I lived for some months on the countryside - together with 7 other people. We had goats & chicken & a big garden & our own well for fresh water in the backyard, but we didn't had a tv - we didn't even have a telephone - but we lived quite happy there & didn't miss anything & would still live there, like in a fairytale, if time wouldn't had passed on.

I remember that when in that time I visited a greek young girlfriend at her parents home, it really shocked me, that while I visited them they had all the time the tv on - without even really watching it - what a disgusting manner!

Some times later - I already lived in big town Nuremberg & also lived in a community - we were about 5 people - yes meantimes we alread had telephone (you know one telephone for 5 to 7 people - we had a tally for everyone who made a call..) -

When later on some folks in our community decided to have a tv - I was the one who was against it, because I was aware what destructive tool that thing is to communication & people living peacefully together - the most demanding person in our community was that person who later on got drug-addictive & later on died by an overdoze..

If you can't make it out yourself - I was talking about the years of the late sixties & then the seventies

Lots of years later on - of course everyone got telephone & tv. - Even me - the formerly purist - watching tv all evening long gives you the feeling to be not alone, to always be included to something - you don't want to miss a thing & get so god damn passive. - I noticed this fatal influence on little children who sit such long time in front of tv's - they get so passive & influenced & totally forget to explore life by themselves. - I warn since long time every mother about that bad influence, but some mothers just don't care & the small rest of the mothers already know by themselves & really take care about watching times & what their children see etc.

This spring I had a time ( some weeks) when I started renovating my flat - I worked still late in the evening & had in most times the tv switched off. - I saw a lot of things with need to be repaired or renovated, while I had my tv-evenings shut off. - & got aware that it was quite healthy to not let steal your time by that ooze coming out your tv-set.

A friend of mine - a software engineer living with his wife on the countryside told me a while ago, that they got rid of their tv. - means they had been too addictive for a while & got aware, that there were better things to do than sitting passive in front of that screen.

So this evening I was angry that my tv broke - but later on thought - may it's a good thing for me - I've been much more creative in the before-tv-time & in fact I have seen probably any possible movie or soap anyway about some times & the more international news I can alway get in the internet. -

May it'll be healthy & sound for me staying for a while without tv - it'll spare me a lot of 'waste of time' -

hmm - but on the other hand there were some precious music & concert films announced in 'arte' (a German-French art channel) & I really would have liked to take them on video.

So I give a cheer to the break of my destructive tv - so let it stay broke! - but on the other hand: it's hard to really say good-bye to all that multimedia!

PS: & may someone remembers Frank Zappa's lyrics on his song about watching tv:


"I am gross and perverted
Im obsessed n deranged
I have existed for years
But very little had changed
I am the tool of the government
And industry too
For I am destined to rule
And regulate you

I may be vile and pernicious
But you cant look away
I make you think Im delicious
With the stuff that I say
I am the best you can get
Have you guessed me yet?
I am the slime oozin out
From your tv set

You will obey me while I lead you
And eat the garbage that I feed you
Until the day that we dont need you
Dont got for help...no one will heed you
Your mind is totally controlled
It has been stuffed into my mold
And you will do as you are told
Until the rights to you are sold

Thats right, folks..
Dont touch that dial

Well, I am the slime from your video
Oozin along on your livinroom floor

I am the slime from your video
Cant stop the slime, people, lookit me go"

0 comments so far

previous - next

Mongolian hint - 2011-03-19
Intrigues about a perfect song - 2010-02-24
Iran would kill our foreign minister - 2009-09-28
Brandstifter - 2009-09-27
It's memolos time! - 2009-05-02

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!